Background image

ACC Asia Cup

ACC Asia Cup Logo

The Asian Cricket Council Asia Cup is a men's One-Day International and Twenty20 International cricket competition. It was set up in 1983 when the Asian Cricket Council was established as an action to advance altruism between Asian nations. It was initially planned to be held every 2 years.

The Inaugural ACC Asia Cup

The main Asia Cup was held in 1984 in Sharjah in the United Arab Emirates where the gathering's workplaces were based (until 1995). India boycotted the 1986 competition due to stressed cricketing relations with Sri Lanka. Pakistan boycotted the 1990โ€“91 competition because of stressed political relations with India and the 1993 competition dropped for a similar explanation. The ACC reported that the competition would be held annually from 2009 onwards. The ICC has decided that all games played in the Asia Cup have official ODI status.

The Success of ACC

Since the Asian Cricket cup started in 1983 it has gained immense popularity since then. It has become one of the most-watched tournaments in history. India, with seven titles (six ODI and one T20), is the best group in the competition. Sri Lanka is the second-best group, with five. Sri Lanka has played the most Asia Cups trailed by India, Pakistan, and Bangladesh who have played 13 each.

The ACC Playing Format

The timetable and organization of the competition were declared on 24 July 2018, with the six groups split into two gatherings of three. The main two groups from every one of the gatherings advanced to the Super Four part of the tournament. From there, the best two groups of the Super Four segment played with each other in the final. Initially, the group that ended second in Group A was to play their first Super Four game in Abu Dhabi. The six teams are:

  • Afghanistan, ICC Full Member
  • Bangladesh, ICC Full Member
  • India, ICC Full Member
  • Pakistan, ICC Full Member
  • Sri Lanka, ICC Full Member
  • Hong Kong, 2018 Asia Cup Qualifier

Recommended Betting Site for ACC Asia Cup Betting

Want to know which the best cricket betting sites are? No need to look further, below is our recommended list of betting sites with the best cricket betting offering.  

  • Excellent for Cricket Betting!
  • Very user-friendly!
  • Huge selection of banking options! 
Get Bonus
  • Great for Cricket betting!
  • Accepts deposits in Indian rupees!
  • Great deposit bonus for Sports & Casino!
โ‚น 33.000
Get Bonus
  • Great bonus offers!
  • World-class odds!
  • Fantastic live casino! 
  • Quick Deposits
Get Bonus
  • Splendid sports coverage
  • Welcome offer is very generous
  • Payout percentages are quite high
  • Mobile experience is excellent through android and iOS apps 
Get Bonus
  • The casino game selection is excellent
  • Low minimum deposit levels
  • The platform is mobile friendly
  • Support for several cryptocurrencies is provided
  • Complete product portfolio - Casino, Live Casino & Sports
Get Bonus
  • Tailored for Indian players
  • Accepts local Indian rupees
  • Impressive sportsbook
  • Unique casino games not found elsewhere
  • Accepts UPI & NetBanking payments
Get Bonus

The Summary Of Every ACC Cup So Far


The primary release of the Rothmans Asia Cup was held in 1984 in Sharjah, UAE, the area of the central command of the recently framed Asian Cricket Council. The competition was a cooperative competition among India, Sri Lanka, and Pakistan. The main match was between Pakistan and the new ICC part Sri Lanka. India won this competition with two triumphs, Sri Lanka were the sprinters up in the competition with a solitary triumph over Pakistan, while Pakistan returned home without winning any of its two games.

Sri Lanka was the host for the second version in 1986. India pulled out of the competition due to soured cricketing relations with Sri Lanka after a disputable series in Sri Lanka the past year. Sri Lanka won the competition beating Pakistan in the last.

The third version, in 1988, was held in Bangladesh. In the last, India beat Sri Lanka by 6 wickets to win their subsequent Asia Cup.


The fifth release, in 1995, returned the series to Sharjah, UAE following 11 years. India and Sri Lanka came to the last by uprightness of preferred run rate over Pakistan as every one of the three groups had equivalent focuses after the starter round. For the third progressive time, India crushed Sri Lanka in the last.

The 6th version was held in Sri Lanka in 1997. Sri Lanka beat India in the last by 8 wickets to win its subsequent Asia Cup.


The seventh version occurred in Bangladesh for the second time in 2000. Pakistan and Sri Lanka came to the last while India just dominated one game against Bangladesh and didn't meet all requirements for the last interestingly. In the last, Pakistan beat Sri Lanka to win the Asia Cup interestingly. Yousuf Youhana was the player of the Tournament.

The eighth version occurred in Sri Lanka in 2004. India and Sri Lanka bested the Super Four phase and arrived at the last. In the last, Sri Lanka crushed India by 25 races to win the Asia Cup. Sanath Jayasuriya was the player of the Tournament.

The ninth version of the Asia Cup was held in Pakistan. Srilanka bested Group A and qualified for the second stage alongside Bangladesh. In Group B, India proved to be the best and entered the Super Fours alongside Pakistan in runner-up. Sri Lanka and India beat the Super Four phase and entered the last. Sri Lanka beat India in the last serenely winning their fourth Asia Cup.

The 10th version was held in Sri Lanka, between 15โ€“24 June 2010 facilitating the Asia Cup for the fourth time. Sri Lanka and India bested the gathering stages and entered the last. In the last, India beat Sri Lanka serenely to become a medalist for the fifth time, winning the competition for the first time in quite a while.


The 11th version of the Asia Cup took place in Dhaka, Bangladesh from 11 to 22 March 2012. Pakistan and Bangladesh accomplished to play in the last of the 11th version, Bangladesh had beaten India and Sri Lanka to book its position in the last without precedent for the historical backdrop of the competition. Pakistan beat Bangladesh after an exhilarating last finished, winning their second Asia Cup.

The twelfth version took place in Dhaka and Fatullah, Bangladesh from 25 February to 8 March 2014. The competition comprised of five groups with Afghanistan in it interestingly since its beginning in 1984. Sri Lanka crushed Pakistan by 5 wickets in the last to triumph the Asia Cup for the fifth time.


India triumphed all of its games played in Asia Cup 2016 beating Bangladesh twice, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and UAE


India didn't experience a solitary loss in the competition, with 2 successes each against Pakistan and Bangladesh, a single success against Hong Kong, and a bind with Afghanistan.


Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2020 Asia Cup was first deferred to 2021 with Sri Lanka to host the occasion yet was subsequently pushed back to 2023 due to the rising Coronavirus cases in Sri Lanka.


The ACC Asia Cup has changed the manner in which cricket is watched and played across the world. This has created many records in the history of cricket which includes the highest score by Virat Kohli(183), the Most runs in a tournament by Sanath Jayasuria (378) and it also has the record of the biggest total in one day ODI. T20s have changed and resuscitated the game of cricket, and nobody has accomplished more in such a manner than the ACC Asia Cup.

#Cricket, #Cricket betting tips, #Online cricket betting

Gian Chacko

Sports enthusiast with love for cricket, football and sports in general. Holds 10+ years of following and writing about sports and lately also betting.