Background image

IPL 2022: Sunrisers Hyderabad Team Profile

The Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) is a franchise cricket team founded in 2012 and based in Hyderabad, Telangana, India. The team is owned by Kalanithi Maran from the SUN Group.

SRH won the IPL Trophy 2016, but has not been able to repeat that glorious victory again in the following years. However, it has been one of the most consistent teams since winning the title in 2016. Having had a poor IPL season last year, the team has vowed to improve in the IPL 2022.

The Sunrisers Hyderabad captain Kane Williamson is hoping to make an impact moments after his comeback from a long break due to injury. The New Zealand international cricketer was bought by SRH for Rs. 14 crores. As a batsman who has played in all formats, Williamson played an important role in filling the captaincy position and keeping the scoreline.

During the 2022 IPL Auction, SRH spent a lot of money to support young talent, such as its move to re-recruiting the versatile Abhishek Sharma. SRH also re-signed T Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and Priyam Garg for the Indian Premier League this season.

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH): Strengths and Weaknesses

Sunrisers Hyderabad relies on Mukaram, Tripathi, Pooran, and Williamson on the pitch and they are strong players in IPL 2022. Sunrisers Hyderabad's strategy this year has remained more or less the same with young Indian hitters and a few local picks in the speed-bowling line.

The absence of the best spinners and openers is SRH's weakness for the side. The team will suffer on the bowling side due to its previous dependence on Rashid Khan, one of the pillars standing for SRH.

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH): IPL Squad 2022

Batsman Aiden Markram, Shashank Singh, R Samarth, Rahul Tripathi, Priyam Garg
WK- Batsman Glenn Phillips, Wisnu Vinod, Nicholas Pooran
Bowler Umran Malik, Saurabh Dubey, Romario Gembala, Fazal Haq Farooqi, J Suchith, Shreyas Gopal, Kartik Tyagi, T Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar
All-rounder Abdul Samad, Marco Jansen, Sean Abbott, Abhishek Sharma, Washington Sundar

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH): IPL 2022 Fixtures

SRH vs LSG April 4, 2022  7:30 PM DY Patil Stadium
SRH vs CSK April 9, 2022  3:30 PM DY Patil Stadium
SRH vs GT April 11, 2022  7:30 PM DY Patil Stadium
SRH vs KKR April 15, 2022  7:30 PM Brabourne – CCI
SRH vs PBKS April 17, 2022 3:30 PM Brabourne – CCI
SRH vs RCB April 23, 2022 7:30 PM Brabourne – CCI
GT vs SRH April 27, 2022 7:30 PM Wankhede Stadium
SRH vs CSK May 1, 2022 7:30 PM MCA Stadium, Pune
SRH vs DC May 5, 2022 7:30 PM Brabourne – CCI
SRH vs RCB May 8, 2022 3:30 PM Wankhede Stadium
SRH vs KKR May 14, 2022 7:30 PM MCA Stadium, Pune
SRH vs MI May 17, 2022 7:30 PM Wankhede Stadium
SRH vs PBKS May 22, 2022 7:30 PM Wankhede Stadium

See more IPL 2022 schedules on our IPL 2022 page.