Background image

Facing West Indies, Team India to appoint Rohit Sharma as captain

After the 2022 IPL finishes in late May, a hectic schedule awaits team India. Under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma, the Men in Blue will have three one-day internationals and five T20Is against the Caribbean side.

They will have a series of tests, T20I, and ODI matches with several national teams before going up against the West Indies.

Rohit Sharma has the opportunity to make history as the first Indian captain and fifth overall to win consecutive bilateral T20I series.

Along with Afghanistan's captain Asghar Afghan and former Pakistan captain Sarfaraz Ahmed, Rohit can be the third captain to snatch four whitewash wins in the bilateral T20I series.

For the West Indies, the team will be led by Kieron Pollard, who also played for the Mumbai Indians in the 2022 IPL.

The timeline

The three ODIs will be held at Queen's Park Oval starting from July 22 to July 27. The team will continue their match for the 5 T20Is scheduled on July 29 and August 1-7 at Brian Charles Lara Stadium and Warner Park in St Kitts and Nevis.

Rohit's team will start their journey to the Caribbean from the United Kingdom on July 18. Before the team heads to Trinidad, the Men in Blue will have another series of matches consisting of a test, T20Is, and ODIs with the following schedule:

- June 9-19: India vs South Africa (T20I)

- June 26-28: Ireland vs India (T20I)

- July 1-5: England vs India (5th Test)

- July 7-10: England vs India (T20I)

- July 12-17: England vs India (ODI)

With that being said, the Indian players will need to prepare themselves as soon as the 2022 IPL finishes. The squad will have less than a month from the end of the IPL season to the first T20I against South Africa, scheduled for June 9.

Team India’s record

In February, team India played several matches for the series. The Men in Blue played three ODIs and three T20Is against the West Indies and won all of them.

The team also played against Sri Lanka in three T20I matches in the same month and snatched all of the matches' victories.

Kuldeep Yadav was back in the field after a long break and got paired with Yuzvendra Chahal. On the other hand, some players were rested at that time, which included Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, and Mohammed Shami.

India will have different formations for the ODI and T20I matches, with Rohit as the captain for both formations. The team will feature notable players both for the ODI and T20I matches.

The ODI squad will include Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohd. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, and Avesh Khan.

While the T20I will include Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Surya Kumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Ravi Bishnoi, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Mohd. Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, and Harshal Patel.

Gian Chacko

Sports enthusiast with love for cricket, football and sports in general. Holds 10+ years of following and writing about sports and lately also betting.