Background image

ICC Champions Trophy

ICC Champions Trophy Logo

The ICC Champions Trophy is the newest edition to the 50 over tournament format. The popularity of this game has been on rising since then. Every tournament is a journey for every team that is participating.

For its growing popularity and role in shaping futures of weaker times, the Champions Trophy is also known as “The Mini World Cup”. At times, difficulties occurred in its progression, but fans always cheered up and resurrected the mega event.

Recommended Betting Site for ICC Champions Trophy Betting

  • Excellent for Cricket Betting!
  • Very user-friendly!
  • Huge selection of banking options! 
Get Bonus
  • Great for Cricket betting!
  • Accepts deposits in Indian rupees!
  • Great deposit bonus for Sports & Casino!
₹ 33.000
Get Bonus
  • Great bonus offers!
  • World-class odds!
  • Fantastic live casino! 
  • Quick Deposits
Get Bonus
  • Splendid sports coverage
  • Welcome offer is very generous
  • Payout percentages are quite high
  • Mobile experience is excellent through android and iOS apps 
Get Bonus
  • The casino game selection is excellent
  • Low minimum deposit levels
  • The platform is mobile friendly
  • Support for several cryptocurrencies is provided
  • Complete product portfolio - Casino, Live Casino & Sports
Get Bonus
  • Tailored for Indian players
  • Accepts local Indian rupees
  • Impressive sportsbook
  • Unique casino games not found elsewhere
  • Accepts UPI & NetBanking payments
Get Bonus

The Birth Of The ICC Champions Trophy

Every sporting event has an interesting backdrop to its main story. The ICC Champions Trophy has its history and moment to remember. It began in 1998 as the newly formed ICC KnockOut Tournament which attained little popularity and no potential support.

In 2002, a new name was introduced to address the ICC Knockout Tournament. After becoming “the ICC Champions Trophy” in 2002, the year gap was changed from 2 to 4 years. Additionally, the ICC Champions Trophy was postponed from 2008 to 2009 due to security reasons. The 4-year cycle also became permanent from 2009.

The Passion and Excitement Around ICC Champions Trophy

Cricket is a sport full of passion and excitement. Through these moments, fans find a way to relate to their teams. Additionally, emotional moments are shared and celebrated. Also, the moments full of passion and excitement create some memorable moments.

The Champions Trophy final of 2013, in which India defeated England, occurred in a shortened 20 over match. A move that turned the tide suddenly became match-defining when Ishant Sharma dismissed Morgan after leaking runs.

The Inaugural of ICC Champions Trophy

The ten Test-playing nations were joined by Kenya, which had full One Day International (ODI) status, and the Netherlands, winners of the 2001 ICC Trophy. Each team played the other two teams in its pool, and the four teams that led in each pool proceeded to the Semi-Finals.

The teams were split into four groups in which every team played with group members. The Champions Trophy final between India and Sri Lanka was washed out twice, resulting in a shared win. The tournament's highest run-scorer was Virender Sehwag, and the highest wicket-taker was Muralidharan.

The success of ICC Champions Trophy

Success is measured by acceptance, interest and support. In the case of the Champions Trophy, success has come in all forms. The event has proven to be the link between two big events, it also has viewers all around the world. One of the biggest roles that the ICC Champions Trophy successfully played is in spreading out the message of cricket and promoting it to a wider audience.

ICC Champions Trophy Format

This format has evolved through the years. In 2002 and 2004, the tournament had 12 qualified teams to play in a round-robin-style championship. These twelve teams were divided into groups chosen anonymously. To become the ultimate champions, a team had to play four matches.

From 2006, only 8 teams have been in the final tournament. In a round-robin format, the top two teams from each pool advance to the semi-finals. Thus, this format is a tidy one and a single loss could result in the elimination of a team.

The Summary Of Every ICC Champions Trophy So Far

Champions Trophy 2002

2002 Champions Trophy was supposed to be held in India, but it was rescheduled to Sri Lanka. The tournament consisted of fifteen matches, including two semi-finals and a final. Unfortunately, the Final was rescinded and both finalists shared victory.

Winners - India and Sri Lanka

Most Runs - Virendra Sehwag

Most Wickets - Muralidharan

Champions Trophy 2004

In September 2004, the ICC Champions Trophy was held in England. Twelve teams competed in 15 matches spread across three venues over the course of 16 days. The biggest surprise in 2004 was the entry of the United States in the top 12 teams who booked their place in the Champions Trophy after winning the 2004 ICC Six Nations Challenge.

Player of the series - Ramnaresh Sarwan

Most runs - Marcus Trescothick

Most wickets - Andrew Flintoff

Champions Trophy 2006

One of the most unpredictable to date, the 2006 Champions Trophy was played from 7 October to 5 November 2006 among 12 teams from 4 groups. The championship produced five of the ten lowest team totals in tournament history, with totals of 80 (for West Indies) and 89 (for Pakistan) being the lowest recorded in matches involving the world's top eight One-day teams.

Player of the series - Chris Gayle

Most runs - Chris Gayle

Most wickets - Jerome Taylor

Champions Trophy 2009

The top eight teams from ICC rankings were divided into two groups to compete for the 2009 ICC Champions Trophy. Every team in its group played every other team once. Each match was given a certain number of points depending on different results.

Champions - Australia

Most runs - Ricky Ponting

Most wickets - Wayne Parnell

Champions Trophy 2013

The Champions Trophy 2013 is a memorable one for Indian fans. India became the ultimate winner of the tournament by defeating England. Excitingly, the prize money was $2 million which was the biggest since the emergence of this event.

Player of the series - Shikhar Dhawan

Most runs - Shikhar Dhawan

Most wickets - Ravindra Jadeja

Champions Trophy 2017

The 2017 Champions Trophy, held in England and Wales, was a bitter one for Indian fans. Pakistan won the event for the very first time, defeating India by 180 runs in the final at The Oval. In terms of runs, the margin of victory was the largest by any team in an ICC ODI tournament final.

Player of the series - Hasan Ali

Most runs - Shikhar Dhawan

Most wickets - Hasan Ali

ICC Champions Trophy Stats

Most runs have been scored by Chris Gayle who played 17 matches and scored 791 runs. Ex-New Zealand speedster Kyle Mills played 15 Champions Trophy matches and took 27 wickets.

Shane Watson is the only player to be awarded player of final twice in consecutive years of 2004 and 2006. Farveez Maharoof gave his iconic performance in 2006 taking 6/14 against West Indies. For the highest runs scored in an inning, there is a tie between Nathan Astle and Andy Flower.


It has been only 20 years since the tournament has found its feet in the international cricket world. Unlike other events, there were cases of mismanagement during earlier additions of the game. Since 2013, with the occurrence of some extraordinary moments, the event started to gain popularity.

The Champions Trophy has been an event of passion and true sportsmanship. As well as, there were some new rules added to the qualification round and tournament format.


Gian Chacko

Sports enthusiast with love for cricket, football and sports in general. Holds 10+ years of following and writing about sports and lately also betting.