Background image

Latest News & Promotions

I league

The I-League, which began in 2007, is a professional league for Indian men's association football clubs. Since then, the tournament has featured 21 clubs and remains India's top football league, although the start of the Indian Super League is creating some concerns. The National Football League (NFL) was established in India in 1996 to professionalize the sport. The I-League, however, was founded after 11 seasons and swiftly surpassed the National Football League as the country's primary football league. I-League's purpose was to professionalize and popularize the sport so that it could be enjoyed by people throughout the country. In six out of the eight tournaments held so far, a team from Goa has won the competition and only twice has a team from outside Goa won the tournament.

Dronacharya Award

The coaches always play a crucial role in shaping an athlete's career as well as the whole team. Such mentorship is rewarded in India by honouring the coach with the Droncacharya award. This is the highest award presented to a coach of any national sport in India.

The Khel Ratna Award

The Khel Ratna Award, or Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award, is India's highest honour an Indian athlete can hope to receive. This award was originally named after the former Indian prime minister, Rajiv Gandhi. However, the Indian government renamed it after Major Dhyan Chand a few years ago.

India Open Badminton

The India Open Badminton Tournament was first founded in 1973. It ran intermittently until 1997. A total of 6 tournaments were held in 1973, 1979, 1981, 1983, 1985 and 1997. Since 2008 it has been run as an annual event, although in different formats. From 2011, all the India Open badminton matches have taken place in the Siri Sports Complex in Delhi. 

Indian Open Golf

The Indian Open Golf is an annual property of the Indian Golf Union. Launched in 1964, this event became part of the Asian Golf Circuit in 1970. In 1998, the Indian Open Golf affiliated to the rival Omega Circuit. Since 2015, this tournament has been recognized by the European Tour.

India's premier tennis event: the Chennai Open

The Chennai Open is part of the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) circuit. This hard court tennis championship has been held every year since 1996. At present, it is the only tour-level tennis event held in India. It has featured some of the best players in the game, such as Rafael Nadal and Carlos Moya.

ACC Asia Cup

The Asian Cricket Council Asia Cup is a men's One-Day International and Twenty20 International cricket competition. It was set up in 1983 when the Asian Cricket Council was established as an action to advance altruism between Asian nations. It was initially planned to be held every 2 years.

Everything to know about the Australian Tri Series

The Australian Tri Series is a premier tournament hosted by Cricket Australia. This is a triangular round-robin series, and the final features the best match between the two best teams. There are three teams participating in this cricket tournament.

Border–Gavaskar Trophy

The Border-Gavaskar trophy celebrates the two greatest cricketers of the 20th century, Sunil Gavaskar and Alan Border. Both players captained their teams in the late 70s, and early 80s. The team that wins the Australia - India Test Series receives this trophy. Readers should know that the Border-Gavaskar trophy tournament takes place every two years, and is an important part of the ICC's cricket schedule. At the time of writing this article, India were the trophy winners.

The Champions League Twenty20 — History and Records

The Champions League Twenty20 was a cricketing event that lived short in terms of years but left a memorable impact on the whole cricket world. Indeed, the journey of such an event expanded the tournament concept within contemporary leagues. Leagues such as the IPL and the CSA T20 added multi-nationality players in their newly emerged T20 domestic leagues.